University of York Doctorate for Hugh Masekela


South African trumpeter and flugelhorn player was awarded an honorary doctorate by the University of York.

Hugh Masekela receiving his honorary doctorate from the University of York
Hugh Masekela receiving his honorary doctorate from the University of York

The awards ceremony took place on 17 July 2014. Masekela was one of 16 people on the University of York’s list of people who have made a significant contribution to society. The recipients are selected from nominations by University members and are often alumni or people with links to academic departments. The University of York website describes Hugh Masekela as “a trumpeter, flugelhornist, singer and defiant political voice of international repute who remains deeply connected at home while his international career sparkles”.

South Africa’s President Zuma awarded Masekela a gold Order of Ikhamanga in 2010 and 18 March is recognised as ‘Hugh Masekela Day’ in the US Virgin Islands.

Below is a video of Hugh Masekela’s acceptance performance at the University of York graduation ceremony.

(Video : University of York)

Other recipients of honorary degrees from the University of York this year include:

  • Mairi MacInnes, the distinguished author of seven books of poetry, two novels, and a memoir.
  • Professor Derek Pearsall, an internationally recognised name in the field of Medieval English literature.
  • Professor Ahmed Zewail, a Nobel Laureate and the Linus Pauling Chair Professor of Chemistry and Professor of Physics at the California Institute of Technology (Caltech).
  • Zainab Salbi, an Iraqi-American humanitarian, entrepreneur, author, filmmaker and media commentator who has dedicated herself to international women’s rights and freedom.
  • Professor Padmanabhan Balaram, a Professor of Molecular Biophysics and the Director of the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.
  • Peter Murray CBE, Executive Director of Yorkshire Sculpture Park (YSP) which he founded in 1977 while Principal Lecturer in Art Education at Bretton Hall College.
  • Professor Sir James Mirrlees, awarded a Nobel Prize in 1996 for his fundamental contributions to the economic theory of incentives under asymmetric information.
  • Professor Bertrand Meyer, an academic, author and consultant in software engineering.
  • Gary Verity, the Chief Executive of Welcome to Yorkshire since 2008 and is Chair of the Heritage Lottery Fund Yorkshire and Humber Committee.
  • Liz Wilson, an active member of the city’s cultural community since her appointment as Chief Executive of York Theatre Royal in December 2009.
  • Professor Paulo Gadelha, elected President of Fiocruz for a second term. Fiocruz plays a uniquely influential role in Brazilian and Latin American public health.
  • Professor Anne Treisman has won international acclaim in recognition of the impact of her research within and beyond psychology.
  • Professor Mike Kelly has an international reputation as a leader in the field of evidence-based approaches to public health policy and practice.
  • Roland Keating, Chief Executive of the British Library.
  • Dr Susanna Moorehead has spent her career in international development.
Etienne Shardlow

Etienne Shardlow

Etienne is a proud lover of South African jazz, and host of the weekly JazzE Radio Show on Bakgat Radio. He works as an IT Service Management consultant and trainer.
Etienne Shardlow

Latest posts by Etienne Shardlow (see all)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here