Standard Bank Young Artist Winners at 2014 Standard Bank Joy Of Jazz


A number of previous Standard Bank Young Artist (SBYA) winners will be performing at this year’s Standard Bank Joy of Jazz which takes place at the Sandton Convention Centre from September 25 to 27.

They are Sibongile Khumalo, Gloria Bosman, Tutu Puoane, Kesivan Naidoo, Melanie Scholtz, Shane Cooper and this year’s Young Artist for Jazz winner Kyle Shepherd.

Standard Bank’s long association with jazz goes back to 1998 when it first sponsored the Grahamstown Festival jazz programme. Recently
the Standard Bank Group was awarded the Long Term Partnership Award for its sponsorship of the Standard Bank Jazz Festival in Grahamstown at the 17th Annual Business Day, Business and Arts South Africa (BASA) Awards.

Joy of Jazz made its first appearance at the State Theatre in Pretoria in 1997. The first Standard Bank Joy of Jazz took place in Newtown in 2000 and has since grown to become Africa’s premiere jazz festival.

This year also heralds 30 years of Standard Bank’s sponsorship of the SBYA awards. Khumalo, Bosman and Puoane won for music in 1993, 2000 and 2004 respectively while the first award for jazz was made in 2006 to Concord Nkabinde.

Capetonian pianist, saxophonist, composer and band leader Kyle Shepherd is the 2014 SBYA award winner for Jazz. Ten years ago he performed in Grahamstown as a member of the Standard Bank National Schools Big Band; now he stands on that same stage on the cusp of a career that promises to be significant for South African jazz.

Past SBYA winners such as Sibongile Khumalo and Gloria Bosman show how South African music and jazz can hold its own in any global arena. Each has an impressive local and international pedigree.

The list of SBYA award winners include:
 1993: Sibongile Khumalo (music) – performing at Standard Bank Joy of Jazz 2014
 2000: Gloria Bosman (music) – performing at Standard Bank Joy of Jazz 2014
 2004: Tutu Puoane (music) – performing at Standard Bank Joy of Jazz 2014
 2006: Concorde Nkabinde (jazz) – involved in the workshops and jazz concerts that formed part of the Road to Joy of Jazz, a build-up to the main festival
 2007: Shannon Mowday (jazz)
 2008: Mark Fransman (jazz) – musical director of the 2014 Standard Bank National Youth Jazz Band who are performing at this year’s Standard Bank Joy of Jazz
 2009: Kesivan Naidoo (jazz) – performing at Standard Bank Joy of Jazz 2014
 2010: Melanie Scholtz (jazz) – performing at Standard Bank Joy of Jazz 2014
 2011: Bokani Dyer (jazz)
 2012: Afrika Mkize (jazz)
 2013: Shane Cooper (jazz) – performing at Standard Bank Joy of Jazz 2014
 2014: Kyle Shepherd (jazz) – performing at Standard Bank Joy of Jazz 2014

The 2014 Standard Bank Joy of Jazz is produced by T-Musicman and brought to audiences by Standard Bank in association with the Department of Arts & Culture; the City of Joburg, Gauteng Province and South African Tourism.

Go to:

• Tickets for Standard Bank Joy of Jazz are available through Computicket and Shoprite Checkers. The day pass costs R750 for 16 acts on four stages while the weekend pass is R1250 for 32 acts on the four Standard Bank Joy of Jazz stages at the Sandton Convention Centre.
Tickets are available at a 15 percent discount for all Standard Bank customers subject to availability and on presentation and usage of a valid Standard Bank debit, cheque and/or credit card at a Computicket outlet. The offer is limited to two tickets per person who meet the criteria. The offer is not available for online bookings. This discount is only available until August 31, 2014.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here