South Africa Now! at Ottawa Jazz Festival

The TD Ottawa Jazz Festival runs from 18 June to 1 July 2015.
The TD Ottawa Jazz Festival runs from 18 June to 1 July 2015.

The first announcement of acts for the Ottawa Jazz Festival (18 June to 1 July 2015) has been announced and South African jazz artists feature prominently on the line up.

Legendary jazz pianist Abdullah Ibrahim who recently turned 80 is on the line up announced 12 March 2015. Other South African artists making the line up as part of a showcase of South African talent include the Kyle Shepherd Trio, Louis Moholo-Moholo, Zaki Ibrahim and pop sensation Freshlyground.  Respected jazz journalist Peter Hum played no small part in achieving such a strong South African presence at what will be the 35th Ottawa Jazz Festival, every year he publishes his festival wishlist which included Abdullah Ibrahim, Kyle Shepherd, Nicky Schrire and Afrika Mkhize.

Other notable artists on stage at the 2015 Ottawa Jazz Festival include Bruce Cockburn, Dirty Dozen Brass Band with the Blind Boys of Alabama, Chris Botti, Steve Miller, Snarky Puppy, Pink Martini and Jamie Cullum.

For more information take a look at the Ottawa Jazz Festival site.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here